Whey Protein Powder

It’s been a weird couple of days

A turning point of sorts it seems

There comes points in life where you gotta cut your existing harnesses

And strap onto new ones

Your new paraglider taking you into foreign lands on foreign winds

I have yet hacked through the current ropes that pull me around

Still carried by the currents of the past couple of months

Still trying to untangle myself from the months of COVID

To figure out how life is so normal now

This island that is an oasis of sorts

From the stress of the world

I feel like I am living a dream as I walk around people – too many people

In subway stations, where masks are still mandatory, I feel the mark of what is really at stake

The lurking fear that is masked by the masks

Covered up and largely ignored

How am I supposed to just live normally if nothing is normal outside of this little oasis

I don’t often notice the harnesses pulling me down

Each rope I find new whenever it lurches me in a new direction

One that has stayed constantly pulling is this girl

I want to be free and I feel like she does too

But I am scared of being lonely – who the fuck isn’t?

She’s also different- complicated

Unraveling and unwrapping her own set of ropes that tie her here and there

If we just get tangled we get tangled more and more no?

Or the question is can we help each other

The famous proverb tells me I got a goddamn PLANK in my own eye right now

I think I am dependent on terrace house

It calms me

I think i latched onto it in a time of need, and now it’s just comforting

Had a conversation about friends today

My grandma is losing her faculties

She can’t really reliably say that she is my grandma, she mixes up the names of her daughters

She can’t correct herself anymore

I love her and she lets me borrow her massage chair

Tells me she will find a wife for me

“You’re 22 right? I’ll find you someone beautiful”

“2 years older is okay right?”

I am spending more time with family and it is tough

Talked to my mom about religion and weed haha

I told her that to be completely honest, if I had stuck to church and a religious lifestyle I would be pretty depressed

And weed has honestly helped me find a lot of happiness within myself

And a community

I think a community is most important

And enjoying music together

God I miss smoking on the sundeck with friends

I have unresolved feelings

I feel like I have unresolved feelings for Lara

She was with me for such a critical moment in the quarantine

She validated me in ways no one else had before

And the way that she would look at me

It’s just seared into my mind

Jesus

Writing this blog post has just completely made me melt down

Just in bed crying man

I’ve been crying a lot

I was just having so much fun in school

I had got to a point where I had friends and this girl that I really, really enjoyed

Clumsy little thing but she gave me so much joy

Obviously I gloss over the bad bits right and it’s easy to forget what went wrong

But I genuinely miss her

I feel bad about this girl now, as I don’t feel like my soul is in it

My soul is still at my dorm, in my single

On that sundeck, with that community, with those people

I know I have to move on, but I have just been compensating

Fondue, all the work that I’ve done since, maybe even the people I’ve met

Just to compensate the feeling I had at school

For once at that school I genuinely felt at home

Home

Like I belonged

Ensconced

Heat Wave, Glass Animals- Safe and Sound – Redbone

Sorry Jesús I just fuck

Just started remembering you know when you start remembering

How COVID derailed my last days at school – every moment is so seared into my mind

It’s awfully nostalgic though

It was so apocalyptic I think I can’t forget

I’ve been under this blanket of almost grief

I felt today walking out of the subway, Jump by Van Halen playing

I felt a bit happy, smiled on the streets to myself

Like I was rounding that corner

There’s shit to resolve – like Lara

But I think i can round the corner

Leave a comment